From the eyes of a camera owner: A festival to remember by Taniya Sahni

When I walked into India Habitat Center to witness the biggest event of Indian photography, the inaugural edition of the Delhi Photo festival, I walked in like a beggar. When I walked out, I was no less than a princess, enriched with all the artist talks that I attended, humbled by the photographs I saw and glowing after bathing my heart and soul in the works of legends displayed therein. It seldom happens that you are surrounded by such legendary figures in your field of interest. You can just walk upto them and interact, show your works and get appreciated or turned down (only to get up once again). Better still, they talk about their works in detail to a packed hall and answer your queries patiently. All that and more happened at the Delhi Photo festival. Halls full of photo exhibits, walks and talks with the artists and a lot to soak in. The 9 days that we spent at the venue (India Habitat Center), we literally camped there. And now that the festival is over (the exhibits are on till 28th Oct):
I am both confident and afraid of holding my camera again
I am confident of what I do not what to click or display
I am hungry for more.
I want to see the works and get inspired by more photographers.
I want to interact more with photographers and know the thought process that goes into making of a great picture.
I cannot wait for the next edition of the Delhi Photo festival
I am just a camera owner and I have a long way to go.
An unending journey has begun.

by Taniya Sahni

One thought on “From the eyes of a camera owner: A festival to remember by Taniya Sahni

Leave a Reply

